Takeaway Truth: A Lesson in “Self Love”

Image

Over the years i’ve seen many people looking “outside” for what they thought, or felt should be felt on the inside.  If that doesn’t make sense let me put it this way.  Self-pity.  Simple, yet very direct, and possibly hurtful words for the sensitive at heart.

I do not understand where it is taught, or where it is picked up from.  I don’t remember it being a subject in school, or a conversation amongst friends in previous conversations .. however we all seem to develop it to some extent/degree over time … it may not always be there, but it’s lurking .. waiting for its chance to pop out at your most vulnerable and say “hey you! It’s been a long time .. we should go out for a drink and catch up!”

Do you remember the saying, “If you want something done, do it yourself” … I do.  It was usually me saying it when my husband decides to selectively not hear my requests … after all, everything I request is urgent, you know!! HA!

In context to my image posted above, I used the analogy in the last paragraph to explain how we should be looking inwards in order to find our encouragement, our desires, our “pat on the back”, so to speak.  Self Love.

It is too apparent that we like to blame the “outside” for things that don’t feel right, or things that don’t go our way.   When I say, “If you want something done, do it yourself” I truly mean this from my heart.  What no one really genuinely realizes -from the beginning – is that WE have the power all along.  We have the gift to say, “this is not how my story is going to end”.  WE have the biggest cheering section for our own personal team .. “WE”, as in “I ALONE”!

I really feel that if people began to take responsibility for their actions, for their feelings, and ultimately their lives they would realize that everything they want is in the palm of their hands.  The great outlook on life, the warm fuzzy feeling you feel when things go right, everything in life is a result of what you want, and act upon.  Do you love yourself enough?

If you are not happy with your current circumstances you should not look outside trying to find a “blame”, or a “quick fix” .. look inside.  Take a look at the decisions you are making on a daily basis … are you appreciating yourself,  are you making the best decisions for your future?  Peel back the layers and begin removing each element.  Is this something positive in your life, or something negative that you could do without.  It’s called “self-love”.  Love yourself enough to give only the best to you. If you want something done, you must do it yourself …  It starts with you, and ends with you.

Leave a Reply

