I Am The Decisive Element

I read a quote today that will forever change my life;

“I have come to the frightening conclusion that I am the decisive element. It is my personal approach that creates the climate. It is my daily mood that makes the weather. I possess tremendous power to make life miserable or joyous.” ~Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Perspective, that’s really all life is about.  I mean, there are the people who dwell on the misery that life hands us, and there are the opportunists who find the great and wonderful in even the darkest days.  The choice is yours.

For many years I lived life in a very grey area.  A self proclaimed “realist” … I made my way through tough times, and enjoyed my days when they were full of sunshine.  This area of grey became rather annoying to me because it always seemed like I was on an emotional roller coaster … never knowing what was coming my way.

In 2006 I met the love of my life.  My girlfriend and I were standing in the airport … waiting… our flight to our sunny destination was cancelled .. a grey day!  A conversation began with the people standing beside us that would change my life forever – I met the love of my life.

The way I see it is that there is a reason for everything- the good, the bad, & the ugly.  Every situation, every circumstance is paving way for a route that your particular story is supposed to move towards.

The moral – to embrace the “now”.  Live in the moment, enjoy the good and the bad because each element brings something into your life; a lesson, a thought, a new path.  If things are going bad, it won’t last … and if things are going fantastic, it won’t last either.  Go with the flow and learn to find the “great” in ever situation.  Doing so will make life a little more balanced, and in the end you learn to appreciate everything for what it is, at face value.  Life really is great!  The good, the bad, and the ugly!

Leave a Reply

